Thoughts

When I die

Arianna Huffington (Huffington Post, Thrive) believes that it’s good to remember death every day, or something of that sort. I think I’m aware of it every day of my life. Well, we live in South Africa… at least I get to be thankful every hour I am still alive.

I am not afraid of death. In fact, in my 30s, I always said I was ready to die. It’s a story for another day though.

I just had a random thought:
10 reactions (or responses) to the news of my death that I wouldn’t want.

1) “Oh. Anyways…” complete with a dismissal wave of the hand.
2) “Hah…” said with a blank or blasé look. (I’m not fond of either.)
3) In South Africa: “Ag, shame…” then nothing else.
4) “Who? Really? I know her?” A shake of the head. “Really? Huh.”
5) “Well, death is inevitable. By the way…” and eyes light up.
6) A quizzical look, that’s it. You know, one slightly raised eyebrow, or even just the side of the brow.
7) “About time. What’s for lunch?”
8) “Did she suffer? No? Pity.”
9) “Good riddance.” And the person is out of there so quickly that you almost missed the ‘dance’ part.
10) “But, but… I only wanted her hurt, not dead.”

I half-joke, seriously.  Actually, no joke, maybe number 10.

I’m still there… I am here. I will be truly back here as soon as I am out of the space I am in currently. Thank you so much for your continued support. I feel loved.

Leave a comment