Uncategorized

Acknowledgements and Gratitude

First of all, I would like to thank you all in my WordPress (WP) community. You make a difference in my life. Your faith in me, your support, and your encouragement mean a lot to me. I didn’t think that I would have what it takes to follow through with this whole blogging thing having known me to be that with the energy and the enthusiasm to start but somehow loses the fuel to go all the way. You are my sustainable energy! πŸ™‚

THANK YOU! Thank you very much, from the bottom of my heart!

As I celebrate this milestone of 700 WP followers, I think it’s time (more like way overdue) to get on with those awards that I had neglected. For my sake, I am doing one post to tackle all for the year.

I feel loved and recognized.

Award - Recognition (1)

I would like to convey my heartfelt thanks to Thoughts of an Introvert (I’m so sorry it took me forever to write this) for the recognition–Blogger Recognition Award–of both this blog, ‘I think, I say, I do’ and the travel/food blog, ‘Love of Travel, Golf & Food‘ (formerly ‘Food | Travel | Tour’).

liebsterawards

Huge thanks to one of my favorite writers, MiladyRonel / Ronel the mythmaker, for my Liebster Award. It’s an honor. Thank you, thank you!

Award - One Lovely Blog

Lastly, but definitely not the least, thank you so much, Aweni, for showering me with One Lovely Blog Award and The Versatile Blogger Award.

Award - Versatile Blogger

Please excuse me

Allow me to modify this post in the interest of time. I kindly ask to be excused for my shortcoming. Thank you.

For: Blogger Recognition Award

Brief story of how my blog/s started

I started both blogs about the same time. I started a musing and poetry blog years ago but it fizzled. I think I didn’t have the right reasons for blogging. It was my journal except open to public. My desire to share my passion, my writing (poetry and fiction), cemented my initial intention of sharing my thoughts with others. This kept me going even when I didn’t have an audience. As I gained readers, I was more motivated to keep blogging.

The travel blog was as a result of my love for travel and my wish to share my wonderful experiences.

Advice to new bloggers

Write what you know and what you like. Β You won’t have any problem with content and your posts will be authentic. You’re sure to have interactions and connections. Also, pace your posts. Be realistic. I think unreasonable expectations of yourself when it comes to number of posts will make it easy to feel like you’re failing and eventually stop blogging.

For: Liebster Award

11 Questions and Answers

  1. Pantser or Planner: do you plan your projects or do you just go by ear? Pantser, but learning to plan and plot for a change.

  2. Red or Green: in new situations do you jump in all fired up or do you watch and listen? – It probably depends on the situation or “area” of the situation. Technical at work – Red; Social – Green.


  3. Short Stories or Novels: which do you write and why? – Both, but my novels have, so far, only the first few chapters and outlines for the rest to the end… for now.


  4. To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo: will you write a complete first draft this November or not? Explain. – YES! It’s time. I’m also doing The Write Practice’s 100 Day Book. I’m apprehensive about NaNo but I’m hoping to pull through…


  5. Give away your writing for free: do you publish short stories about your novels on writing platforms like Wattpad to generate more readers? Whether you do or don’t, explain your reasoning. – The intention is there and I started using Wattpad but I think the insecurity – my writing isn’t good enough – stops me from writing there and I am stuck using Word.


  6. Writing competitions: do you enter them or do you shun them? Why? – Yes. To see if my writing is good enough and to learn, too, I suppose. Ooh, but it can be quite disappointing. Sigh!


  7. Social Media: Google+ or Twitter? Which one do you prefer and why? – Twitter. I actually don’t know what Google+ is about and I haven’t had the push to check it out. But, I do have a Google+ account.


  8. Slow blogging (once or twice a week) or daily blogging: which one appeals to you most and why? – I’m very slow but I get other days. I have accepted that I suck at schedules or scheduling. No, I suck at following schedules.


  9. Fantasy (and other genres like it) or Realism: write it, read it and what appeals to you in it? – Realism. I want to relate and I want to understand life, love, etc. However, I’m trying out fantasy just for size. And, Romance is actually a fantasy. Haha!


  10. If you could only eat one type of food for every meal forever, what would it be and why? – Filipino dishes (all served with rice): menudo, afritada, kaldereta, anything with coconut milk, etc. Or, sushi!


  11. Oliver Queen from Smallville (first guy in green below) or Oliver Queen from Arrow (second guy in green below): who would you rather have guarding your city? Why? – The tougher looking dude because he looks tough enough to be highly capable of protecting a city.Β 

For: One Lovely Blog and The Versatile Blogger Awards

7 Facts about me you not know

  1. I was born in the year the Philippine Martial Law was declared, in a small island, Alabat, in the province of Quezon (not Quezon City), Philippines.

  2. I’m my parents’ “unica hija” (hija unica), only child (daughter), biologically. My father died when I was barely two years old. The father I call now is my step-father. My daughter was made “my parents’ own child” before her first birthday and thus became my sister when I was twenty-one years old. I told her the truth when she turned eighteen. I have a son and a daughter after my “sister-daughter”.


  3. I’ve lived in Africa for more than half my life: January 1986 to April 1988 in Zambia, November 1993 to March 1995 in Botswana and from 1995 in South Africa. I was naturalized in 2006. In South Africa, I first lived in Polokwane (when it was Pietersburg) and Emahlaleni (when it was Witbank) and Middelburg before moving to Johannesburg upon my divorce from my first husband. I have been a “Joburger” since January 1999.


  4. I’m a proud La Sallian. Having studied in De La Salle University, Manila (main campus), helps me feel less inadequate. Yes, I suffer from feeling of inadequacy. So, when I’m a bit bitchy and arrogant, I’m just actually over-compensating. I’m usually nice but had to teach myself to be tough and callous but it’s not my natural form. Haha. My learned self-confidence is beneficial to my life “outside of my subconscious” but it hasn’t quite fully converted to self-esteem. I’m working on it.


  5. I don’t like Trump but I don’t hate him either. I can’t say the same for other leaders… BUT, I immensely dislike mysoginistic attitude and tendencies, and discrimination of all kinds (including “reversed”). I am for merits, no matter who you are. Jobs shouldn’t be based on anything other than qualification, experience and capability.


  6. I only read on a few select subjects. A story loses me if I don’t get a glimpse of romance or fantasy when I start reading… unless I have to read it. I think… I do like an exciting life story, not necessarily drama but one that tackles the meaning of life, or purpose, or growing to a more enlightened being. I seem to think I want to write Literary but I think Romance. I still fail to appreciate “good writing” if the subject is not interesting to me. But, I do like “To Kill A Mockingbird”, “God, This is Anna”, “The Joy Luck Club”, and Paulo Coehlo’s works, especially “Veronika Decides to Die”.


  7. I see myself as “crazy/beautiful”, crazy in a beautiful way. So, I’m writing my memoir and I’m calling it, “Crazy/Beautiful: A Memoir of Acceptance”. I’m still convincing myself I’m a writer / author but I’ve improved so I created this year my author website: http://www.annajaileneaguilar.com.

AJ Aguilar - Author Website

Thank you once again. Thank you for acknowledging me as a blogger. Thank you for reading. Thank you for your support and encouragement. Thank you so much for the love.

Much love and hugs to you from me,

Finding Joy 6

13 thoughts on “Acknowledgements and Gratitude

  1. Good luck with NaNoWrimo! I won’t be tackling a new project this November — I’ll be in the trenches of rewriting. I did see, though, that the JoziWrimos are having awesome prep sessions in October with writing workshops and other fun things to get geared up for NaNo.
    Great post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Ronel. It took me long but I got it done, albeit not true to its form. I need that first draft done and I believe the NaNoWriMo will give me the push. And you’re definitely on the right track editing after the last two years of NaNo. Sadly, I’ll be missing out all the activities and sessions held on weekdays. πŸ˜₯ I think there was one last Friday. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’–πŸ€—

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne! My dear friend, you have really outdone yourself with this post. It’s lovely to learn so many fun things about you, even having known you all this year. It must have taken a long time to write this, and I’m grateful that you did. Thinking about your life, and about all the turns it’s taken, wow, born on a very small island in the Philippines, having your daughter at a young age and the family dynamics with that, living in S. Africa and being S. African …. wow! πŸ™‚ Congratulations on a lively and well-lived life! ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, my dear Theresa. I finally got this post done. Pity I couldn’t do the awards properly. The best I could do. 😊 I think we continue to get to know all our friends more each year. 😊 I do believe that my life is “memoirable” enough. πŸ˜€ I just need to write the good-for-a-book parts well. And, I feel there are more. We are only beginning with our other adventure. I’m really excited still because I know our next project will be even better. πŸ€—πŸ’–

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow!
    Its nice to get to know you better Anne.
    It sounds like you are living a very colourful and beautiful life. I think that you are so lucky to have experienced all these cultures. Must be why you have such a broad perspective.
    Thank you for the advice too. I am so in need of them right now.

    Ps…must have taken a long time to write this up….kudos and thank you for the acknowledgement 😘😚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Aweni. Sometimes, I wonder if it’s a blessing or a curse. I’m also old so those many years have given me lots to think and talk about. 😊
      It’s an honour to share and to interact. Writing and posting can take time sometimes as words firsg percolate in the head πŸ˜„ and I write bits and pieces until the words come together.
      All the best to you. You are doing fabulously with your blog. I love your writing. Hugs. πŸ€—

      Like

Leave a Reply

