Alt.Exe · Shorts

Finding Joy I

This is going to be my first post on ‘Finding Joy’, thus the “I”. Bearing in mind that “life happens”, writing my ‘Finding Joy’ posts in parts would work best. It would take me forever to publish if I were to write one long post. “Shorts” is a darned good idea. Thanks to Dr Martina Feyzrakhmanova for the suggestion, which basically affirmed the idea/thought I already had but didn’t share or implement yet. Great minds think alike. πŸ™‚

It’s easy to go with the [negative] flow and be dragged by our emotions. However, all we need at times is to keep breathing and refuse the drama thrown at us by others.

The big boss had been out of town for a couple of days or so and in his absence we were awarded an urgent catering work. The government department confirmed our appointment via a text message, sans purchase order or award letter, at close of business on Thursday. The event was on Friday. At least, the first serving–coffee/tea with scones, muffins, croissants and fruits–would only be to thirty people. The first full serving to more than two hundred people would be at nine thirty.

The catch is we are not a caterer. We are an events management and hiring company. We also do not have a regular caterer with whom we work. From two options we had when I left the office at six o’clock, which caused me to be late for my therapy*, we were fortunate to have a caterer brave enough to take on the job. The other one was honest to say there wasn’t sufficient time to prepare. (We would still consider them in future for a properly planned catering work.) We also have a good team who don’t mind working (loading) at night and starting again early the next morning.

*My hour therapy was reduced to thirty minutes. It wasn’t ideal but it was better than missing it altogether, which was what happened the week before, also due to work. I found some joy in my thirty minutes I had with my therapist instead of sulking about the thirty I lost (and must still pay for).

There were stresses, pressures and challenges (from about six o’clock in the morning) but one of my current intentions is to find the ‘fun’ in what I do despite the challenges.

Finding Joy I (1)
Pics taken for my colleague when she called from site and told me about the dress code. I told her she was better off than me. (It was a Friday so we didn’t have to be so formal.)

One of the small issue encountered that I could resolve was the shortage of hot flasks and milk jugs. There were at least four serving stations and the bulk provision from the caterer was “stuck” in the minister’s holding room. Thus, I ran (drove in a hurry) to the cash and carry and bought some water jugs (for milk) and the much needed flasks. Then, I had to drop them off on site, the site being the offices of the client. Apart from the security checks and accreditation requirements, we found out late that there was a certain dress code expected or allowed.

My colleague, acting as the Project Manager, had to go and buy a new dress.

Finding Joy I (2a)
Pictures published with permission from my colleague

 

I wasn’t really going to stay for long so I thought I could get away with my outfit. Not! I should have bought a light scarf–our spring is proving to be quite summery, temperature-wise–to cover my bare shoulders, but I didn’t so I had to find an alternative. The only thing I had in the car was my daughter’s Hello Kitty pink fleecy blanket. You guessed right: the blanket became a shawl.

I did find it funny and I could forget the stress even for a bit.

Finding Joy I (7b)
Hiding in the kitchen… wouldn’t you, if you were wearing a blanket as a shawl? πŸ˜€
Finding Joy I (7)
On my way out, I posed for some fun.

I do hope that you find something to laugh about in the midst of a stressful day, even if not every day.

Finding Joy I (8)

21 thoughts on “Finding Joy I

  1. Anne! What a fun “day in the life” post! It really gives me an intense feeling for the kind of work you do, and for your creativity and inventiveness in solving life’s little problems. They are lucky to have you! I loved all the visuals, and including the one of your colleague’s requisite change of attire. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Theresa. Just like you my friend, I can’t be happy with half an effort, right? We give all that we can and we hope to be appreciated at least, if not acknowledged. My colleague and I both learned something new, being office-bound. Being out there with clients is different. I’m glad I sit in the office. πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course, you are right, about giving our all. And, I can completely imagine how hectic it would be to be onsite at an event that your company is responsible for. Manic! πŸ™‚ Good for you for keeping yourself at a distance when you can!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. And I wanted to say, good for you for going to your therapy appt. even though it was 30 minutes shorter. I’ve done the same thing when I had forgotten the appt. until it was almost too late to go, and I found I still had benefit from going. Good for you, to care for yourself even in the face of an outside catastrophe from the business world! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, apart from the waste of money, as we must still pay when we miss appointments, I just really needed to touch base with her after my self-doubt following that short story writing contest. I completely missed the last one. We shouldn’t forget our care sessions, my friend, or sacrifice for work except when absolutely unavoidable. πŸ€—πŸ’–

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw, the community is truly filled with wonderful people. Thank you so much. I love connecting with amazing people. Theresa and I have become friends. We are finalizing the result of our collaboration and it’s really exciting. After this, I am sure that we will have other ventures to enjoy. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

