Alt.Exe · Thoughts

Writing Emotions

Sometimes, you can’t help but write. Writing what’s inside your head is almost a matter of life and death.

To not write is to suppress emotions.

And those emotions are most probably bursting to get out. Bottling up emotions isn’t a good thing because we know what happens when we deny ourselves of the real thing. It’s not good to pretend. We know that the lies we tell ourselves eventually catch up on us. So, we write. Because we must! We may not be able to do something to change the situation for the better but letting out the negativity cleanses us, our hearts, and we are able to start anew after exhaling the unpleasant.

Writing is like talking to friends.

Talking to friends make us feel better. I don’t know if it’s better to have input from another soul, or two, or more. I guess it depends on the situation. Sometimes, we need to hear from others that we are not unreasonable. We need to be comforted. However, there are times when we know that it’s best not to be influenced by others.

Forty-five years of existence gives me some sort of track record. My friends and I have discussed relationships at length. We have complained to each other about the bad things that we experienced. We shared the love and happiness with our friends. We have exchanged thoughts and we have advised each other. We still do. From all the talking, exchanging of ideas and giving advice, we know that at times, even well-meaning advice, do not necessarily make a situation better. We need to resolve issues with only the people concerned. The only thing our friends can do for us is offer support. We need nothing more from our friends except for some comforting.

When we write what we feel, we are communicating our deepest feelings. We just don’t get influenced on the way forward. We merely allow ourselves an outlet so we can clear our heads and figure out what to do next. Occasionally, what we go through is unusually difficult to talk about face-to-face. Writing is our refuge. It rescues us from descending to a worse emotional or mental state.

It is a blessing to write.

Writing emotions doesn’t require me to be a professional writer. I don’t need to know how to write fiction or poetry. I simply need to translate my thoughts to words. Then, I put those words on paper. Of course, these days, not on physically paper as almost all my writing is on electronic medium.

I do believe that I am a pretty uninhibited outspoken person. 90% of my life is an open book, which I might even divulge to a stranger. Then again, that strange could potentially be a new friend. If you’re sharing your life’s stories, developing a friendship becomes easier. However, there is still a bit of me that I hold back all to myself. Having brazenly spoken/written about my attempted suicide years ago, one might ask what can be worse than suicide that it cannot be disclosed verbally. Fair question. My answer: experiences, feelings and thoughts involving other people who might not handle the revelation of such information the same way I do.

As with unacceptable thoughts that can make me sound unstable, immoral or unethical, occurrences and circumstances that I cannot overtly convey become materials for my fiction and poetry. Here, it helps to know how to write fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Writing Emotions

  1. Writing can be a way to let both positive and negative emotions out. There are times when my head is swiming with articles which I am mentally writing and then I need to get it out of my head, if not it will not allow me to sleep . So I would write write write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It must be an epidemic because I get that, too. I just want to write that I even forget that I am too tired and too sleepily so I keep going. Then, I suffer the next day at work.
      Thank you so much for sharing your own experience and thank you for visiting. Hugs. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “To not write is to suppress emotions.” A very courageous thing to say! And once again you have given me the impetus to write, write, write, when things get emotionally dramatic. 🙂 I also love that you said, you don’t have to be a professional writer to write about your feelings. Yes! begone that perfectionist inside us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, my friend, we must right whatever emotion pushes us to write. Thank you for always supporting me. We will keep writing no matter what and we won’t think too much about it. We will be perfectionist when we edit. 🙂 Hugs. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

