Music

Better Off Alone

I’ve been listening to Katharine McPhee since last week. The songs remind me of a certain juncture in my life not so long ago. I had mentioned here that I was doing some research in preparation for a piece that I want to write. This piece involves that almost-gentleman for whom I wrote a tribute.

As the memories surface, I have short bursts of creativity. I even wrote a flash fiction. The last line of the song (or probably the whole song) was an inspiration. The story is quite morbid but rest assured that it’s nothing but creativity. I will be a really scary person if I think of such as possible in my real life. I will post the 200-word fiction on Friday.

Coincidentally, Friday is my birthday, and something happened eight years ago at my birthday party, which most probably contributed to what eventually happened to the relationship with almost-gentleman. Sometimes, we excuse someone’s bad behavior because of our own sin. Fortunately, often, what happens is meant to happen.

For now, here is the song. I am sorry I couldn’t find a better YouTube video. I don’t think she was popular so no Vevo. 😦

Better Off Alone

by Katharine McPhee

One thing I’m wonderin’ when you run out of friends
Will you be coming back home?
Let’s think this through again, let’s take a different spin
Why can’t I leave you alone?

Somewhere tonight, you may be found
With some other girl you’ve been draggin’ around
You lie to yourself, you lie to me
It seems like the truth is your worst enemy

‘Cause baby I’m tired, I’m tired of the fight
I’m tired of the lonely days and the dark endless nights
It’s taken some time ’cause I didn’t know if I could ever let you go
You helped me figure it out, I’m better off alone
Oh, I’m better off alone, yes, I am

I may be found somewhere tonight
Cursing the day you walked into my life
But what’s done is done, I can’t change time
But I’ll be damned if I’m not gonna try, oh, I’m gonna try

But baby I’m tired, I’m tired of the fight
I’m tired of the lonely days and the dark endless nights
It’s taken some time ’cause I didn’t know if I could ever let you go
You helped me figure it out, I’m better off alone

But every now and then my heart gives in
To the hope that someday you’ll change
Then alone I’ll wake to my own mistakes
That it’s just a foolish game

I’m tired, I’m tired of the fight
I’m tired of the lonely, lonely, lonely days and the dark endless nights
You didn’t think ’cause you didn’t know
That I’d find the strength to let, let you go
I finally figured it out, oh, I’m better off alone
Oh, I’m better off alone, yeah

One thing before I go
Something I’ve got to know
Boy, did you ever love me?

Written by Austin Carroll, Susan Marshall 
Copyright © BMG Rights Management US, LLC

Here’s another song from the album.

Over It

Other songs you might want to listen to:

  • Home
  • Each other
  • Everywhere I go

I hope you at least like the songs a little if not a lot. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Better Off Alone

  1. Will still listen to the song but have read the words and yes certainly in the morbid category! Congratulations on your birthday to be 25 years plus ago a girlfriend ended our relationship on my birthday (major self pity). But I got over that, but good thing I didn’t listen to the song then!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, sometimes, people who “meet” each other are so similar. 😊 My story shall follow. You know, luckily, even when we don’t think we would, we eventually get over majority of our disappointments. Thanks for sharing. We’re not alone. 🤗

      Like

Leave a Reply

