My City Life

Discipline

I am re-blogging this old post of mine NOT because I want more likes (although more likes are welcome – ha-ha!) having written and posted it when I had only a handful of lovely people in my WP community and I got exactly TWO likes.

I’m bringing this post back to the present because I am a broken record, a creature of [bad] habit, and I need to remind myself that it takes discipline to get results! And discipline works well with persistence, consistency and determination.

I have said it before and I will say it again: public holidays mess me up. Public holidays throw off my routine and schedule. And, public holidays seem to end up with me on a less-than-100% health level.

Nevertheless, I intend to keep welcoming public holidays and long weekends, such as the one we just had from Good Friday to Family Day Monday, because I get to rest my ever-busy body and mind. Perhaps the relaxation or idleness jolts my body to reality that it has been abused and over-used and must therefore shut down to replenish.

As far as writing is concerned, I just need to redirect me to the practice of self-discipline.

Or simply discipline!

Help! Somebody discipline me. 🙂

I think, I say, I do

Discipline (Henrik)

This last week had not been a terrific one. Flu threatened to take me down yet life went on, as usual, with work not slowing down for my less than 100% health. That’s what adulthood is about, right? Responsibilities. Discipline. Sleep when dead.

Growing up means being responsible not only for own self but possibly for others, too. A grown up parent understands that love isn’t only reflected in being around his/her child/ren but also in providing for him/her/them. A grown up knows that living has associated costs and bills have to be paid. And so we earn a living.

In the world of work, the call for maturity is even stronger. It is not request. It is an instruction, an order. And within the walls of that world are more responsibilities. Sometimes, despite all efforts to ensure that everything is done accordingly and properly, things still go wrong. Blame…

View original post 404 more words

Leave a Reply

