Fiction · Re-blog

Cinderella & the Black Ribbon at Fostel Hall Pt. 1

As with ‘The Moreau Witches’, Alexis’ Cinderella story, even though this is only Part 1, has already captivated me!

By the way, if you haven’t yet read ‘The Moreau Witches’, you just have to, and now.
Here is the link to Part 1 –
https://alexischateau.com/2016/10/03/the-christmas-horror-by-alexis-chateau/
(from there, you’ll find the the other 4 installments)

Back to Cinderella, while I wish this story could have made the challenge for publication of the anthology, I am so happy that Alexis took on the challenge for fun and personal satisfaction (is that about right, Alexis?) because I get to enjoy her awesome story excellently written. I have no doubt that when she publishes it (possibly with her other short stories or novelletes), I will be “just slightly jealous” (or a lot more). 🙂

I can’t wait for the next installment and I am sure that you will find yourself in my shoes as soon as you are done reading this.

I love it!

Enjoy!

P.S. (to Alexis)
Are you doing a scary one? I changed my mind, lol! It’s so nice I want it to more Chick Lit or Romance and not Thriller or Horror. Haha!

Alexis Chateau

i

She was only nine years old, but already she was a fierce and stubborn thing.

There wasn’t an order she wouldn’t question, or a point she wouldn’t argue. She had an opinion on everything from religion to oranges, and was as much in love with her books as her horse.

There were times he felt a pang of guilt eating a hole in his chest, when he remembered his first thoughts the morning she’d been born. The pregnancy had been a difficult one, and the doctors had warned Maria to make this her first and last. The labor had been no different.

While Maria sweated and screamed, he had fretted and chewed his nails. And when she held their baby up to him with tears of suffered pain and happiness in her eyes, he had wondered:

Why couldn’t it be a girl?

His name would end with this child, and…

View original post 962 more words

Leave a Reply

