Music

How Far I’ll Go

“I’ve been standing at the edge of the water
‘Long as I can remember, never really knowing why
I wish I could be the perfect daughter
But I come back to the water, no matter how hard I try
Every turn I take, every trail I track
Every path I make, every road leads back
To the place I know, where I can not go, though I long to be…”

My little one has been singing the theme song from the Disney movie, ‘Moana’ for about two weeks now. One of her friends at her nursery school sang it and it seems that all her “friends” at aftercare know it. She sings the song every day to know it completely by heart as much as she knows Frozen’s ‘Let It Go’ and ‘Do You Wanna Build a Snowman’.

I have liked many Disney songs. Hubby and I had sung Beauty and the Beast’s song at karaoke at least twice. However, I don’t think I really paid attention to the lyrics until now, or none of them grabbed my attention. Maybe none of the Disney princesses’ stories resonated with me.

Then, Disney came up with ‘Moana’. I haven’t watched the movie but I know the story a little from reading my daughter’s coloring book. Ha-ha! It would be the perfect song of my younger self. I guess, it would still make sense for me to say it’s perfect for me.

The song (story) resonates with me not only because both Moana and I am island girls but I’ve always felt that I didn’t fit in. Others played their roles in life and I always went where my heart and passion led me. The line where the sky meets the sea doesn’t hold the literal meaning for me; it symbolizes my dreams and ambitions. My mother had once remarked that my dreams are too big. I have a restless spirit and I want to see where it will take me.

Yeah, I wonder… how far I’ll go. 🙂

How Far I’ll Go

I’ve been standing at the edge of the water
‘Long as I can remember, never really knowing why
I wish I could be the perfect daughter
But I come back to the water, no matter how hard I try
Every turn I take, every trail I track
Every path I make, every road leads back
To the place I know, where I can not go, though I long to be

See the line where the sky meets the sea? It calls me
And no one knows, how far it goes
If the wind in my sail on the sea stays behind me
One day I’ll know, if I go there’s just no telling how far I’ll go

I know everybody on this island, seems so happy on this island
Everything is by design
I know everybody on this island has a role on this island
So maybe I can roll with mine
I can lead with pride, I can make us strong
I’ll be satisfied if I play along
But the voice inside sings a different song
What is wrong with me?

See the light as it shines on the sea? It’s blinding
But no one knows, how deep it goes
And it seems like it’s calling out to me, so come find me
And let me know, what’s beyond that line, will I cross that line?

See the line where the sky meets the sea? It calls me
And no one knows, how far it goes
If the wind on my sail in the sea stays behind me
One day I’ll know, how far I’ll go

The above lyrics are available on various websites but I got this specific one from Broadway World.

4 thoughts on “How Far I’ll Go

  1. A beautiful post not to go in past but to stay in present …… Going back to past and remembering….. That which is gone is gone and cannot be changed, but we need to know that we can change this moment into a beautiful one. We never know where we came from, where we will go and thus no way of knowing how far we will go…. But one thing if we flow with life we will reach the shore one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re absolutely spot on. I do that from time to time and I don’t fail to get surprised by what I have done. It doesn’t matter how much more we imagine to be ahead of us. It helps with gratitude. ☺ Thanks so much. 💖🤗

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

