Re-blog · Thoughts

An age-old fable that teaches self-esteem

I love the fable. It sure is good to know that perhaps I have not gone to the jeweler yet. Even better is Dr. Martina’s thought on this that always relying on another person, notwithstanding the expertise, to tell us our worth isn’t so good. Isn’t it best that we be our own jewelers?

Thinking Clearly

One day a young man came to the Teacher and said:

“I came to you because I feel so pathetic and worthless that I do not even want to be alive. Everyone around me is saying that I’m a loser, a useless idiot. I need your help, Teacher.”

The Teacher, glancing at the young man, hurriedly responded:

“I’m sorry, but I’m very busy right now, so I can not help you. I need to urgently settle a very important matter.” He added: “But if you agree to help me in my quest, then I will gladly help you in yours.”

how to have higher self esteem

“With … with pleasure, Teacher,” he muttered, noting with bitterness that he was once again being treated as less important.

“Very well,” said the Teacher. He removed from his left little finger a small ring with a beautiful stone.

“Take the horse and ride down to the market square! I need…

View original post 751 more words

2 thoughts on “An age-old fable that teaches self-esteem

  1. It’s all about not mistreating oneself in our opinion. Low self esteem leads potentially to other non desirable situations such as jealousy, malice etc…But on the other hand, how can we “teach” people to accept ‘failures’ or ‘rejections’ while not impacting the mental state?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

