Alt.Exe

Twenty One

My son turned 21 last week. He celebrated with his friends and was drunk as he had never been, or so he said. They were at his friend’s parents’ house.

Turning 21 is a permission to do the adult stuff, I suppose. Twenty one is the legal age, although never legal to do illegal deeds. The age certainly signals many changes in one’s life, intended and otherwise.

When my smoking turned 21, it ceased to exist. It was no longer part of my reality. It was not planned but I sure am glad it happened.

Yes, I used to smoke. A lot.

2009 (06-08 Mar) Kruger Park Lodge (131)

I guess, getting rid of my nicotine addiction is the other reason I should be thankful for my unplanned pregnancy at age 39; the main reason for gratitude is, of course, my beautiful little princess.

I seem to blame the pregnancy for my weight gain and other changes in my body and energy level. I’ll shake myself a little; maybe I’ll remember the fact that I am over 40 and more importantly I am less active.

I also partially quit smoking with my first two pregnancies but perhaps my youth made it easy for me to simply go back to business as usual.

I guess, giving birth at 40 wasn’t too bad, after all.

But no, I am not suggesting pregnancy as a way to quit smoking. As I said, it didn’t work the first two times. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

19 thoughts on “Twenty One

  1. A child turning 21 is to remind a parent to let go.
    Time for this young adult to learn on his/her own. Fall down, pick themselves up. It’s the circle of life….song in the background playing….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks Vinny. ๐Ÿ’– Back when I thought smoking was cool. I know it’s difficult to get rid of. Hubby had been promising but can’t even get to no cigarette in 1 day, not even when sick. My ex husband had been told by the doctor to stop or he might as well kill himself. Sometimes, for some, it has to be a matter of life and death. I hope he tries. I got lucky I stopped liking it. Maybe he’ll get there also, somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the response. Ive been telling him to quit since I was a kid. Im 29 now. He has high blood pressure now.

        It would suck if your husband has the same condition wreck his body. My friend quit smoking cold turkey multiple times. I think youre right.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a long time. I hope he doesn’t have a stressful job as well. I have hypertension now, from stress, and I’m lucky I’m healthy overall. The story would be different if I still smoked. It’s always a pleasure to interact. โ˜บ๐Ÿค—

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think sometimes we think smoking relaxes us in a good way that relieves stress but really not. It’s not always easy to avoid stress but if we know our priorities and they happen to be what truly matter, life is easier and we won’t have unnecessary stress. I know, easier said than done.
        Anxiety is an awful thing. Sorry to hear. Type A sister, you said… Do take care of yourself.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne, as always I am so impressed with your willingess to be open about your past, about missteps or adventures alike! I am selfishly glad you are no longer a smoker, as I have a parent who became ill with lung disease after being unable to quit smoking over his lifetime, and it was an awful impairment on his life when he became ill. He passed last year at only 81 years old after several years of a limited life. Glad you’ll be with us!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Theresa. I am also really glad I got out of it. It’s such an inconvenience actually. It just seemed so cool at first. As more people quit, smoking was just a bad habit. As for being open, it makes it easier to be just me. It’s tiring to hide certain aspects of us. I just make it known that I’m kinda crazy. That way, I don’t surprise people too much anymore. ๐Ÿ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My hat is off to you! It is hard to quit smoking! My dad tried three different times over different decades and was only successful the last time – but developed a lung disease anyway. He really regretted it afterward. But it’s not easy! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you ๐Ÿค— I sure am happy I don’t smoke anymore. Sorry about your dad. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ Hubby just doesn’t feel/see it. He had a full medical last year and he said everything’s perfect. He just can’t seem to quit.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, it’s really hard. My friend N. who is the same age as my son, we collaborate on various science-fiction things and she is an SF writer too, is addicted to smoking as well. She tried to stop a couple of years ago following a super-traumatic personal event, but she’s back to the habit. It holds such a tight grip on you, I think. My dad really kicked himself after he was diagnosed (with emphysema), and fell into a deep funk of remorse. Why didn’t I quit earlier? Why did I waste my life poisoning my lungs? But eventually he came out of his depression and he embraced meditation and other wellness strategies to try to make the most of what he had left. Which he did. But … it was pretty awful for him when the magnitude of the situation hit him. Good for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. If only we can use others’ stories to help our family members and friends, right? My father also keeps going back. Hubby just can’t seem to even try, and his father doesn’t even smoke.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

