Music

Tommy & Gina

Tommy & Gina… Stephan & Anna (but call me Anne – lol!)…
Same difference. 🙂

Bon Jovi has written some of the best slow rocks / rock ballads of all times. One cannot help but sing along to their songs but especially Livin’ On A Prayer and It’s My Life. Tommy and Gina represent many of us and their story, our love song, is the story of our relationships. Written by Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora, Livin’ On A Prayer with Desmond Child and It’s My Life with Max Martin, these are two of the many songs of Bon Jovi I love, love the most!

Here’s to my favoritestBon Jovi – for forever and a day! The songs are for me, ‘though.

Livin’ on a Prayer

Livin’ on a Prayer is an all-time favorite, a classic that cannot be ignored. Today’s music cannot compare and I’m willing to get into a fight for this. Haha! There’s nothing more necessary for me to say about Livin’ on a Prayer but if you’d like just a bit more, here’s something brief from Wikipedia.

Once upon a time not so long ago

Tommy used to work on the docks
Union’s been on strike
He’s down on his luck…
It’s tough, so tough

Gina works the diner all day
Working for her man,
She brings home her pay
For love, for love

She says, “We’ve gotta hold on to what we’ve got.
It doesn’t make a difference if we make it or not.
We’ve got each other and that’s a lot.
For love we’ll give it a shot.”

[Chorus:]
Whoa, we’re half way there
Whoa, livin’ on a prayer
Take my hand and we’ll make it – I swear
Whoa, livin’ on a prayer

Tommy’s got his six string in hock
Now he’s holding in
What he used to make it talk
So tough, it’s tough

Gina dreams of running away
When she cries in the night
Tommy whispers,
“Baby, it’s okay, someday…

…We’ve gotta hold on to what we’ve got.
It doesn’t make a difference if we make it or not.
We’ve got each other and that’s a lot.
For love we’ll give it a shot.”

[Chorus]

Livin’ on a prayer

We’ve gotta hold on ready or not
You live for the fight when it’s all that you’ve got

[Chorus 2x and fading]

Lyrics from AZ Lyrics

It’s my life

(from Wikipedia)

The song has many classic Bon Jovi features, such as Sambora’s use of the talk box, and a line in the second verse “For Tommy and Gina, who never backed down” refers to Tommy and Gina, a fictional working class couple that Bon Jovi and Sambora first wrote about in their 1986 hit “Livin’ on a Prayer“.

“It’s My Life” is also notable for its line referencing fellow New Jerseyan Frank Sinatra: “My heart is like an open highway / Like Frankie said / I did it ‘My Way’.” Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora apparently had a disagreement over those lines, with Bon Jovi recalling:[2]

I had just come home from making U-571 and I said “Sinatra made 16 movies and toured ’til he was 80. This is my role model”. He [Sambora] said, “You can’t write that damn lyric. Nobody cares about Frank Sinatra but you.” And I wrote it anyway.

Me: It’s not because I’m in love with Jon, for more than 25 years already, but I think Richie is wrong; we care about Frank Sinatra. Lol! (I’ll post a couple of Frank’s songs.)

This ain’t a song for the broken-hearted
No silent prayer for the faith-departed
I ain’t gonna be just a face in the crowd
You’re gonna hear my voice
When I shout it out loud

[Chorus:]
It’s my life
It’s now or never
I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive
(It’s my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said
I did it my way
I just wanna live while I’m alive
It’s my life

This is for the ones who stood their ground
For Tommy and Gina who never backed down
Tomorrow’s getting harder make no mistake
Luck ain’t even lucky
Got to make your own breaks

[Chorus:]
It’s my life
And it’s now or never
I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive
(It’s my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said
I did it my way
I just want to live while I’m alive
‘Cause it’s my life

Better stand tall when they’re calling you out
Don’t bend, don’t break, baby, don’t back down

[Chorus:]
It’s my life
And it’s now or never
‘Cause I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive
(It’s my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said
I did it my way
I just want to live while I’m alive

[Chorus:]
It’s my life
And it’s now or never
‘Cause I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive
(It’s my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said
I did it my way
I just want to live while I’m alive
‘Cause it’s my life!

Lyrics from AZ Lyrics
8 thoughts on “Tommy & Gina

    1. Absolutely!!! “It’s My Life” should be our life song – for all of us. 🙂
      Ah, Mel, we are after each others’ hearts. Favorite Guns N’ Roses song – Patience!!! I won’t ever forget – Used to Love Her. It’s funny. Lol! Sweet Child O’ Mine is there somewhere, with November Rain. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Always a pleasure, my friend. I always force my son to listen to my music and I guess vice versa so this venue works for me. Haha. Thank you for the appreciation. I’m a huge Bon Jovi fan – Jon especially. I think I’ll do Bon Jovi songs for several Mondays, but the less played (?) which I think have beautiful stories and poetry. Don’t get tired of them. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

