Alt.Exe

Sympathy instead of anger

Almost every day, I am reminded that our response to people who forget manners, ignore courtesy and/or choose to be rude or arrogant cannot be anger and/or frustration.

I realize that they don’t know better, having been denied of the correct upbringing. The fact that they are now adults and should be capable of reprogramming their brains and changing their attitudes for the better does not necessarily mean that they, in fact, have the capacity or capability. Suddenly, I feel differently; I feel sympathy.

I’m not excusing bad attitude. I’m not going to carry it with me either so I let it go. The easiest way to let go is to not take the attitude personally.

Also, it’s not about me; it’s about them. After all, it’s vain for me to think it’s about me.

Image credit: Share Stuff (?) (got it from Facebook)
4 thoughts on “Sympathy instead of anger

  1. Hmmm, there is to us a fine line between being firm/assertive and being “diplomatic”.
    Crossing over a little between the two is ok. You sometimes need to show them who’s boss, and then return to being nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Something like that..
      But sometimes, you just let them be (“arses”); in the bigger scheme of things, they’re insignificant in your life.. such as South African taxis (they’re like Philippine jeepneys), rude (BMW ๐Ÿ˜) drivers, rude people in general, politicians, ignorance, stupidity, narrow-mindedness, inconsiderate, ingrate, apathy, etc. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

