Thoughts

2016, in retrospect

This is a copy of my post on Food | Travel | Tour
but slightly modified to suit this blog

I am saying goodbye to a year that has not been fabulous.

Heck! The year had not been good. In fact, for many of us, it had been taxing, challenging, tough, sad, awful, and so on. We can relate and comprehend.

BUT, the year being generally bad instead good is no reason to feel so down and mope. I think some of us have enough goings-on that can cause days to be miserable so I’m going to look at the good that happened.

I am focusing on things that make me grateful and happy.

This year saw me gain not only 350 followers but also friends. Albeit only online, you are friends all the same. Thank you very much! I am always grateful for your support. You and your continued encouragement make me happy. Life is better with you.

2016-in-retrospect-1
Outeniqua Pass, Garden Route, Western Cape, December 2016

Despite the negative, I must say that I have been truly blessed this year. You are a huge part of the blessings received in 2016.

I am saying goodbye to a year that taught me a lot.

It’s been a year of learning how to be brave and to stick it out in spite of me wanting to give up a few times.

I intended to properly grow up this year and although the process isn’t complete, I believe that I have grown up tremendously as I see myself bidding 2016 goodbye with the understanding that growing up is a never-ending process. Only death, physically or figuratively, stops our growth.

I don’t deny that this year brought misfortunes and many unpleasant, even sad, events. However, if we really look, we will see that we have been blessed as well. If we are deliberate, we will be able to list down many things for which we can be grateful.

I am looking forward to an even better 2017 for all of us!

May we all be sufficiently blessed so we can fill our blog pages with joy.

Daily Post – Discovery Challenge: Retrospective

5 thoughts on “2016, in retrospect

    1. I feel the same for sure. I am hopeful that this is only the beginning of a wonderful relationship – as collaborators, co-curators.. friends 😊💖 We’ll work on that hope for a happy, rewarding and successful 2017. 😄😘🤗

      Like

    1. Thanks so much, Mary (Maria / Moji) 🙂 You have a great blog – looks complex to us who are not so technically blessed. You have an amazing drive and spirit. Stay passionate. Wishing you a blessed 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww thanks Anne. You most welcome. In no time, you will be technically blessed no worries, WordPress has a way of rubbing into ones spirit. Haha. Thanks for the compliment. I wish you a wonderful and blessed 2017 too. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

