Poetry

Foolish

Realization had hit me bad
I did not learn, and it is sad,
From my mistakes and experiences
It is distressing; I feel I’m hopeless

I did agree when once you told me
Just next best thing you would not be
Don’t hesitate even a bit
It seems I did none but forget

Although it was not the intention
I was a disappointment, no need to mention
I had been selfish that’s for sure
Somehow I think I had been cruel

My fear was no valid excuse
My insecurity, you must refuse
I tried to stop myself from falling
But now it’s pain that I am feeling

I did not want to take the risk
I do admit that’s what it is
Another chance I don’t deserve
You’re good for one who’s truly brave

I now accept my destiny
Where foolishness had led me
All I can do is think of you
Cherish the time spent with you

© Anna Jailene Aguilar-Van Der Merwe
I think, I say, I do [www.ithinkisayido.wordpress.com]
Throwback post
Originally written on the 19th of April 1999
One of the two written on that day

 

10 thoughts on “Foolish

  1. Anne, I really liked the choices you made for your rhyming pattern in this. A lot of times rhyming can seem artificial, but your choices seemed non-intrusive but added a lovely voice to the poem’s very heartfelt emotion. Nice!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Theresa. I really appreciate your comment, always. The encouragement means a lot to me. Often, past heartbreaks make us wary and scared. We become too careful as we don’t want to get too hurt again so we do what we think is right to prevent it. I think I did that quite a bit after my divorce. Luckily, I learned to be brave again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

