Music · Thoughts

A song, a prayer

A Woman’s Strength

“Beneath every strong, independent woman lies a broken little girl who had to learn how to get back up and to never depend on anyone.”

I saw this on Facebook, posted in September last year by an Erica Fernandes.

Some people may not agree (you only have to read the comments and what I think about what people think about this warrants a separate post) but I am 100% in agreement with the author of the quote.  I do buy in to the principle of causation (or causality).

The differences exist in how each one of us reacts to what happens to us.  We perceive what happens to us differently and it can therefore be expected that our responses will vary accordingly.

Whether I acknowledge it or not, who and how I am, rebel or conformist, is my own creation in response to necessity.  According to my body talk practitioner, I wanted so much to belong that when I felt I didn’t, I decided to be absolutely different from the very same people whom I wanted to be like.  It is rather ironic, I’d say.

While it is best not to be reactive, while it is advisable not to be affected by the external world, it is not an effortless thing to do. I have tried affirmations and chants. I suck at meditation. What others think, say or do still affect me. The consolation is the fact that the effect doesn’t last long anymore. Slowly but surely, I am learning to let go. Every day, I learn to accept me as I am and hold on to the control stick less.

I don’t know for sure what helped me or what still help me. I do employ some of the defense mechanisms available. What is important is I have learned to be strong.

I had fallen before, many times, but I got back up and I kept on fighting. Even when there’s no one else with me, I have been made to realize that all I need is me. Others are a bonus.

The broken little girl may surface sporadically, albeit briefly, because when this happens I turn to music that brings back hope in my life.

This is my prayer.

Faith eventually triumphs!

Life is not all that bad, my friend, hmm
If you believe in yourself
If you believe there's Someone
Who walks through life without you
You'll never be alone
Just learn to reach out,
And open your heart
Lift up hands to God,
And He'll show you the way.

And He said, 'Cast your burdens upon Me
Those who are heavily laden,
Come to Me, all of you who are tired
Of carrying heavy loads,
For the yoke I will give you is easy
And My burden is light,
Come to Me and I will give you rest.'

When you feel the world 
Is tumbling down on you,
And you have no one
That you can hold on to,
Just face the rising sun
And you'll see hope,
And there's no need to run
Lift up your hands to God,
And He'll make you feel all right.

And He said, 'Cast your burdens upon Me
Those who are heavily laden,
Come to Me, all of you who are tired
Of carrying heavy loads,
For the yoke I will give you is easy
And My burden is light,
Come to Me and I will give you rest.'
Category - Music
License - Standard YouTube License
Music - "Lift up your hands" by Basil Valdez (iTunes)

2 thoughts on “A song, a prayer

Leave a Reply

