Thoughts

Super[wo]man

I had been contemplating on doing a weekly post on Songs that are very much part of my life but I just cannot seem to commit to it due to time constraint.

Music is an integral part of life. I am yet to meet a person who doesn’t listen to music. Listening to my chosen songs depending on my mood and what’s going on in my life makes me feel better. There are times when I have to push back tears when listening to a song, or some songs, but I mostly feel joy in my heart when singing along.

Since its release in 2000/2001, Superman (It’s Not Easy), by Five For Fighting, has been my life’s theme song, which is maybe not the best song for anyone to have as a theme song. If I were to follow the teachings of The Secret, I should probably change my song. This could be why I seem to struggle in life more than breeze through it.

When Jessie J’s Masterpiece came out, I thought it would replace Superman but although I listened to it almost every day last year, Superman is still my song. It could be because Masterpiece is more difficult to sing and the words are not as easy as Superman. πŸ˜€

While the lyrics of Masterpiece resonate with me, Superman is more me, I feel, except of course I’m a woman. I might seem vain comparing myself to a superhero but the song is more than that. Also, I actually ask quite often if the people in my life think I’m a Superwoman.

Here are the lyrics:

I can't stand to fly
I'm not that naive
I'm just out to find
The better part of me

I'm more than a bird
I'm more than a plane
More than some pretty face beside a train
It's not easy to be me

Wish that I could cry
Fall upon my knees
Find a way to lie
About a home I'll never see

It may sound absurd but don't be naive
Even Heroes have the right to bleed
I may be disturbed but won't you concede
Even Heroes have the right to dream
It's not easy to be me

Up, up and away, away from me
It's all right
You can all sleep sound tonight
I'm not crazy, or anything

I can't stand to fly
I'm not that naive
Men weren't meant to ride
With clouds between their knees

I'm only a man in a silly red sheet
Digging for kryptonite on this one way street
Only a man in a funny red sheet
Looking for special things inside of me

It's not easy to be me.

Songwriter: John Ondrasik
Superman (It’s Not Easy) lyrics Β© Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

There are a few songs I listen to on a regular basis (listed below). The most played songs on my playlist are the following:

  • Advertising Space, by Robbie Williams
  • Hallelujah, Rufus Wainwright version
  • Jar of Hearts, by Christina Perri
  • Lift Up Your Hands, by Basil Valdez (Christian song, but mainstream, by a Filipino artist)
  • Superman, by Five for Fighting
  • Take Me Out of the Dark, by Gary Valenciano (Christian song, but mainstream, by a Filipino artist)

I also have happy or more upbeat music I listen to, including Bon Jovi, Jessie J, Bruno Mars, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift, Guns ‘n Roses, David Guetta and The Barden Bellas πŸ™‚

 

In response to Daily Post’s Weekly Discover Challenge – SONG

16 thoughts on “Super[wo]man

  1. Oh the link isn’t working and I haven’t heard either of your songs before (I’m particularly bad with knowing song names unless I have them on iTunes so πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ) but I will listen to them. That’s really interesting to say that your life has a particular theme song, as I’ve never really thought about it that way. For me it’s more like having a playlist of the week/month until they start to bore me a little bit.πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ I do believe that the music we listen to reflects our mood sometimes, and other times the music is what creates our mood. There are still articles about this that I should read πŸ™„ but all said, I love music and life would not be the same without it’s constant/persistent presence and it’s desire to be heard and understood.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no. I must have a look. I checked and it was there. Let me test.
      Oh, years and years of trial and error eventually make you see that others have captured your life in a song. Or, maybe I’m just so stubborn – doing the same thing over and over again, this, not a song for the week. Haha!
      Music can accentuate or change our present emotions depending on what we’re looking to get out of it on that particular moment. 😊 Love and hugs πŸ’–πŸ’ž

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know most women, particularly mothers try to be a Superwoman and we all love them for it. But even superheroes have weaknesses and need a break sometimes. Make sure you take care of yourself too before saving others xoxo πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

