Uncategorized

Day 2 Quote: Something More

This is probably the quote I hold dearest to my heart-

“I wish I’d known from the beginning that I was born a strong woman.  What a difference it would have made?  I wish I’d known that I was born a courageous woman.  I’ve spent so much of my life cowering.  How many conversations would I not only have started but finished if I had known I possessed a warrior’s heart.  I wish I’d known that I’d been born to take on the world, I wouldn’t have run from it for so long but run to it with open arms.” It is by Sarah Ban Breathnach who wrote it on her book, Something More: Excavating Your Authentic Self. I also quoted her/her book on my post on worth.

something-more

Google Books has the following on Something More: Excavating Your Authentic Self (“Something More”):

From the author of the bestselling “Simple Abundance” comes a provocative and powerful life “bible” for women around the world. In this insightful and eloquent book, Sarah Ban Breathnach explores the nine stages necessary to living authentically: Sensing, Surviving, Settling, Stumbling, Selling Out, Starting Over, Searching, Striving, and finally, Something More.

I came across above only today but I have always called Sarah Ban Breathnach’s book my bible. I was/am in sync with many women then. Something More was first published around the time of my divorce or about a year later. Since I have lost my copy, having recommended the book to girl friends, loaned it and it didn’t come back, I cannot look up its publication but Google has given me either 1998 or 2000.

Image of the book cover sourced via Google

There are other quotes – I call them “thoughts from the book” – that are absolutely worth sharing to as many souls as possible. Thus, I ask to be excused from the rule of a quote per day.

“Many of us confuse happiness and joy.  Happiness is often triggered by external events, events we usually have no control over – you get the promotion, he loves you back, they approve your mortgage application.  Happiness camouflages a lot of fears.  BUT JOY IS THE ABSENCE OF FEAR.  Joy is your soul’s knowledge that if you don’t get the promotion, keep the relationship, or buy the house, it’s because you weren’t meant to.  You’re meant to have something better, something richer, something deeper, Something More.  Joy is where your life began, with your first cry.  Joy is your birthright.”

“Human beings, as far as I can tell, seem to be divided into two subspecies – the resigned, who live in quiet desperation, and the exhausted, who exist in restless agitation.”

 “The heart of Something More is knowing that your choices – and from now on, only yours – must be the ones that come first.  And if the makes you the most self-centered woman in the world, then you can stop your restless searching for Something More because you already possess it.”

“We divorce or we suffer by settling down, or settling for, staying stuck. But until we learn whichever life lesson we’re meant to at the time – self-acceptance, self-determination, self-discipline, self-esteem, self-forgiveness, self-interest, self-knowledge, self-respect, self-sufficiency or self-worth – our lessons will keep coming back to us.”

“When you’re young, your self-worth comes from being loved by other people; but by the time you become a woman with a past, you know your value, and you love yourself.  That’s where your self-worth comes from.”

“But while I had a new place of dwelling, I was sorely mistaken if I thought I’d arrived.  Crossing the threshold of my longing didn’t end my sojourn to self-discovery and authenticity; it only deepened and intensified it.  Suddenly there was no longer any one person standing in my way to happiness – at home, at work, or in the world.  No more excuses, no one to blame.  No more mitigating circumstances.  No more copping a plea or copping out.  No more shrugging my misery onto anybody else’s shoulders.”

“The unvarnished, naked, unforgiving truth was, if I wanted Something More in my life – and I did – it was up to me to find out what it was and go after it.”

“Why should any of us settle for anything less than the meeting of Heaven and Earth?  I’ve spent my whole life settling and stumbling and barely surviving.  I’ve been shattered and now in the middle of my life, have to start over again from scratch.  Well, if I have to start all over again, this time I’m going to get it right.  Whatever “IT” is.  I refuse to settle for anything less than SOMETHING MORE that I’ve had before.  Because it wasn’t enough.”

Thank you

Thank you so much to Grace for nominating me to participate in this great challenge. I love quotes and I often wonder which is my best and favorite. It is always a competition.

Grace has a fantastic blog and I hope you will check it out. She’s quite amazing, too. Interacting with her is truly a pleasure.

Nominees
  1. Dunelight
  2. Bia Atlas (Sheryl)
  3. Mithai (Mumblezz)
Rules
  1. A quote will be assigned each day for three days
  2. Three different nominees will be notified each day (no repetitions)
  3. Thank the person who nominated you
  4. Inform the nominees

Thank you 🙂

something-more-02

8 thoughts on “Day 2 Quote: Something More

  1. I loved Simple Abundance, now I am getting a copy of Something More, no doubt about it. Just reading the excerpts actually made me stop beating myself up for what I didn’t accomplish today. Thank you for this glorious post. You are quite amazing yourself, young lady!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw, thanks so much, Grace. I’ll take the young with the amazing 🙂 You are the loveliest and kindest!
      Yes, please do get a copy. I must actually replace my lost one. Luckily for me, I take notes and I had this saved 10 years ago or so. I’m strange. Haha! This was definitely like my saving grace having battled with my self-worth and rejection issues. And I sure hope you enjoy it and cherish it as much as I do. 🙂 Love and hugs xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! That first quote is absolutely amazing. When I look back on my life I think of so many times and places where I could have totally benefited, gotten closer to people, done better, had I known the truth about the situation. I wonder what situations I’m in that the future me is thinking that about.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your input. 🙂 Do you think we just doubt ourselves out of habit? For some excitement? Because I’m thinking, if we are always sure about ourselves, then we would just forge ahead… Or, are we scared to surprise ourselves?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think sometimes it’s a matter of training, and other times a result of natural fear of the unknown. Why not doubt? We can’t know the future after all – yet, at the same time, many of us (like myself for instance) could stand to be braver anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

