Poetry

A new day

It feels as though it’s been some years
When all I had were pain and tears
When I resigned to loneliness
And gave up on finding my peace

Life surely has its fickleness
Things turn around in just minutes
One thinks there is no future left
No reason to cheer and celebrate

The truth is that we can erase
All hopelessness and chaotic mess
There are choices from where we pick
It is for real not just a trick

It’s a gamble to open up
Embrace the new, a fresh re-start
Because the joy I feel is great
It’s worth the risk that I now take

Why should I be scared to death?
It may not even be a threat
I’ll simply live this life of bliss
Incredible second chances
© Anna Jailene Aguilar Van Der Merwe

2 thoughts on “A new day

  1. We routinely watch sitcoms where the joys and pains of life are mimicked or satired. But such is reality and nothing is a bed of roses. We believe in living both in the moment as well as planning for the future. Life is poetry in itself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right. I suppose the challenge in balancing everything in life is both exciting and overwhelming… and we do need the balance. Thank you for making me ponder on this further. 😂💖😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

