Poetry

Valiantly so

Daring, brave and bold

I have learned to be

No shrinking violet

a necessity

Not an easy task,

’twas a long journey

Fear surely got in

the way of bravery

But there was no way

I could have stayed the same

No self-confidence

is evidently lame

Challenge acknowledged

as in truth or dare game

Faked it till I made it

Self-doubt I did tame

Life changed for the best

no more hiding away

Social awkwardness

has been kept at bay

Timid no longer

my thoughts I could say

Not a mere existence

Life fully lived each day

© Anna Jailene Aguilar Van Der Merwe

11 thoughts on “Valiantly so

    1. Aw, thank you my dearest darling. See, we lift each other up. 😘 Did I ever tell you I had an inferiority complex as a skinny, geeky, dark kid from the island, with her strangely awful accent? Slowly but surely, I’ll find that consistent courage to write about that inadequacy issue. Much love to you. Warm hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had an inferiority complex too, but I am kicking that into touch these days and learning to like who I am. I would love to hear more about what it was like for you and how you perceive yourself. I am sure it is more critical than anyone else would perceive you! You are beautiful, I mean that 🙂 xx warm hugs back lovely 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Darn thing that rears its ugly head but yeah, we work hard to be better than it, so it’s gotta work 😊 And that perception is tricky. What helps me is what an old friend taught me – stop check correct! Thank you, thank you so much for the love! Beauty and sunshine abound, yay! ❤️❤️ I do suspect you spread both 😊💞

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes dear process of your growth…. And its a blessing you shower too. Be blessed with smiles and happiness and love and light.

        Hey CEO you have some work for us, hmmm remember

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

