Thoughts

Living Passionately, graceful or not

I have not written or posted any blog according to the daily prompt but today seems to fit perfectly with what I had wanted to post, being living passionately. It prompted me to ask if grace correlates to passion.

Am I graceful as I live my life of passion? Perhaps, not. More often, passion goes without grace, although not necessarily or automatically. However, judging from Jimmy who busted both his legs trying to learn to fly (These Days, Bon Jovi), ‘passionate’ is more ungraceful than graceful.

“From a second story window, he just jumped and closed his eyes
His momma said he was crazy – he said, “Momma, I’ve got to try.
Don’t you know that all my heroes died?
And I guess I’d rather die than fade away.”  – These Days, Bon Jovi

I do love that song. Thank you, Bon Jovi!

I would like to believe that I am an advocate of living passionately a life of significance and purpose. I do believe that,

“A full life will be full of pain.  But the only alternative is not to live fully or not to live at all.” – The Road Less Traveled, M. Scott Peck

We are able to accept pain, which makes life with pain less harrowing. After all,

“That which does not kill us makes us stronger.” – German philosopher, Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche

The Road Less Traveled probably turned me into a sucker for punishment, and/or for growth. I hope it is more the latter than the former. Then, Nietzsche gave me a reason to not welcome fear as a regular visitor in my life. It isn’t that I am never afraid, I press on despite being frightened.

It is important to note that pain and anything else that makes us stronger do not include avoidable and unnecessary pains, which deserve a separate post.

To live passionately is to live a full life of passion. I wonder though, is it possible to live passionately if life was devoid of passion? Surely, absence of passion makes half a life.

Living Passionately

I find it an onerous task to remain energetic and enthusiastic throughout the whole work week. I survive those five days but I do know that I do not live fully. I look forward to evenings, weekends and holidays when I have the free time for more ‘fun’ activities like writing, blogging, preparing materials for my blogs and/or social media, traveling and just spending time with the special people in my life, whether gallivanting or relaxing at home.

Living Passionately

Does passion fade?

I think that we are born with passion and life of conformity slowly erases passions. There were also times when I thought that I had a change of heart and new passions replaced the old. I’m not convinced anymore. I may acquire new passion as I grow older but I really don’t think that I completely replace the old. I think that sometimes, passion simply quiets down when not nurtured. When passion seems to have faded, most of us only need time and patience. Time will eventually lead us back to our passion but we must have the patience to excavate our buried passions as we rediscover our true selves upon removing masks after masks of conformity and peer pressure.

Does passion lead to purpose?

To live fully, which will be full of pain at times as I don’t think that there is pain 24/7, is to be on purpose, to live a purposeful life. I know that it isn’t easy at all to be on purpose, or we will all be living our lives happily and effortlessly. Most of us don’t even have an idea why we are here on earth. Many have probably concluded that there is no such a thing as ‘purpose of life’ and we are here just because, no specific reason.

I’ve made it simple for me. My purpose and legacy is to positively touch the lives of others as I live my passion, living my life to the fullest, passionately, with or without pain. Thus, for me, passion leads to purpose.

The 7 Habits

I wasn’t always sure of myself and there are times when uncertainty strikes but I was fortunate to come across a book that changed me quite significantly. I used to think that what I wanted the most was a prestigious job as a CEO of a huge company. I may have failed in my marriage but I was working on equipping myself to make it to that dream. I was sent to attend a Stephen Covey workshop. This was based on his book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. I was determined to be that highly effective person so I read the whole book before and in preparation for the workshop. It was painless for a Type A person.

Begin with the end in mind

I would need to look up the other habits but the second habit stuck with me. I also remember the seventh habit – sharpen the saw – and I know that it can only do me good but I have internalized the habit of ‘begin with the end in mind’.

There was an exercise that we were asked to do – to imagine my own funeral where 4 people (a family member, a friend, a work colleague and someone from my own community) will speak about me. What would they say about me? What would I want them to remember about me? What legacy am I leaving behind? Nothing in that exercise said I wanted to be remembered as the hard-working CEO. Nothing in that exercise said that I wanted to be remembered for what I have accomplished or accumulated. I wanted each and every single person to say that I made his/her life slightly better but not because of anything material.

Beginning with the end in mind opens up to purpose. Then, instinctively, life is lived passionately.

I also think that passion is that which makes us live with complete abandon (within legal limits, of course). For me, it means living la vida loca! 🙂 And loca isn’t graceful but I do my best to be whenever possible.

4 thoughts on “Living Passionately, graceful or not

  1. I loved “I think that we are born with passion and life of conformity slowly erases passions.”. I completely agree, and I’m actually working on a post similar to that. I’m glad i’m not the only person who doesn’t particularly welcome conformity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading and for your comment. I’m happy to hear your view. I don’t think we’re wrong. ☺ Conformity isn’t just positive. I’ll look out for your post. Have a wonderful Saturday.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

